Historical Background

Agape Youth Movement (AYM) was established by a small group of eight (8) young people namely Thabang Ramoroka (Abuti Rams), Fiona Maluleka, Alen Chauke, Josephine Bila, Antoinette Molefe, Michael Makhubela and Tinyiko Malope in a Gauteng township called Soshanguve which is located in the northern side of Pretoria the capital city of the Republic of South Africa (RSA).

Amongst the 8 founders of the organisation were students in high school and some in tertiary institutions. AYM’s first meeting to formulate the organisation’s name, vision, mission, aims and objectives was held on the 11th of September 2009 and now has grown towards major parts of the City of Tshwane.

AYM was officially launched on the 24th of September 2010 at a park in Soshanguve Block TT. The organisation’s launch drew the attention of a large number of young people around the community. The purpose of the launch was to share a mammoth vision which grew to greater heights and also to impact the lives of both young and elderly people around South Africa.


  • 2009

    Agape Youth Movement Established

    Agape Youth Movement (AYM) was established on the 11th of September 2009 by 8 members

  • 2010

    NPO registration and first project

    • Agape Youth Movement NPO registered
    • First project in Soshanguve.
  • 2011

    Education Pillar Introduced

    • Launch of Education Pillar
    • First Career Expo – I made it, what about you?
  • 2015

    First Annual Tshwane Youth Leadership Talk

    The first Annual Tshwane Youth Leadership Talk established

  • 2018

    Youth Leadership Talks established

    – 5-year partnership between Agape Youth Movement and Department of Basic Education established

    – More Youth Leadership Talks established in the following cities:

    • Durban
    • Klerkdorp
    • Polokwane
    • Johannesburg